Four Former Independence Bowl Players Crowned Super Bowl LVIII Champions

SHREVEPORT, La. (Feb. 12, 2024) – On the biggest stage in the sporting world in Las Vegas, four former Radiance Technologies Independence Bowl players were crowned Super Bowl LVIII champions as the Kansas City Chiefs defeated the San Francisco Giants, 25-22, in overtime.

The four Chiefs players that have played in Shreveport-Bossier’s annual college football bowl game are starting cornerback L’Jarius Sneed (Louisiana Tech, 2019), tight end Noah Gray (Duke, 2018), defensive tackle Derrick Nnadi (Florida State, 2017) and safety Deon Bush (Miami, 2014). Sneed, Gray and Bush are now two-time Super Bowl champions, with the Chiefs winning back-to-back Super Bowls, and Nnadi has now hoisted the Vince Lombardi Trophy three times.

Sneed started at cornerback in the game, tallying three total tackles and one pass deflection. Gray also started the game alongside superstar tight end Travis Kelce and hauled in both of his targets for 22 yards. Nnadi and Bush were active but did not record any stats in the contest.

On the San Francisco side, Jon Feliciano (Miami, 2014) started at right guard, and linebacker Oren Burks (Vanderbilt, 2016) stepped in to play significant snaps after starting linebacker Dre Greenlaw exited due to injury. Burks racked up five total tackles in the game. 

In addition to the four former Independence Bowl players crowned Super Bowl LVIII champions, three coaches from the 1988 UTEP staff – including future Pro Football Hall of Famer Andy Reid – won their third Super Bowl. Reid, Chiefs’ special teams coordinator Dave Toub and Chiefs’ outside linebackers coach Ken Flajole were all on the 1988 UTEP staff that took on Brett Favre and Southern Miss in the 1988 Independence Bowl.


Established in 1976, the Radiance Technologies Independence Bowl™ is college football’s 11th most-historic bowl game and celebrated its 47th edition on Saturday, December 16, 2023. The Texas Tech Red Raiders defeated the California Golden Bears, 34-14. The Independence Bowl Foundation announced a one-year extension with Radiance Technologies – ensuring they will be the title sponsor through 2025. The bowl’s conference, team, and television agreements also run through the 2025 season. Army West Point and the Big 12 are slated to match up against a rotation of the Pac-12 Conference, American Athletic Conference and Conference USA, which will be televised on an ESPN network.

The Independence Bowl Foundation is prevalent in the Shreveport-Bossier City area throughout the year, hosting events to help enhance the economic impact and growth of our community. The Mission of the Independence Bowl is to attract and provide quality, nationally recognized football competition oriented to the Ark-La-Tex region. For more information, visit or follow the bowl on Facebook, X and Instagram at @IndyBowl.

Independence Bowl Foundation

P.O Box 1723, Shreveport LA 71166  |  401 Market Street, Shreveport, LA 71101  |  318.221.0712

2024 Independence Bowl