News & Notes: Independence Bowl Alumni in the Super Bowl Through the Years

SHREVEPORT, La. (Feb. 10, 2023) – Super Bowl LVII is set for this Sunday between the Kansas City Chiefs and the Philadelphia Eagles. The Super Bowl and the Radiance Technologies Independence Bowl have deep ties, as there have been 111 players that have played in the 46-year history of the Independence Bowl who have also played in a Super Bowl.

There have been 24 former Independence Bowl players that have appeared in the Super Bowl since 2013. Seven players have an opportunity to appear in Super Bowl LVII – five from the Chiefs and two from the Eagles. 

I-Bowl Players of the Game to Play in the Super Bowl

Some of the Independence Bowl’s biggest stars have made it to football’s biggest game, as 12 players that have won the Offensive or Defensive Player of the Game award at the Independence Bowl have played in a Super Bowl. 

  • Otis Wilson (LB, Louisville) – 1977 Defensive Player of the Game
  • Zach Valentine (LB, East Carolina) – 1978 Defensive Player of the Game
  • Stephan Starring (QB, McNeese State) – 1980 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Gary Kubiak (QB, Texas A&M) – 1981 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Tim Krumrie (DT, Wisconsin) – 1982 Defensive Player of the Game
  • Chris Chandler (QB, Washington) – 1987 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Brett Favre (QB, Southern Miss) – 1988 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Chris Oldham (DB, Oregon) – 1989 Defensive Player of the Game
  • Andre Hastings (WR, Georgia) – 1991 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Kevin Faulk (RB, LSU) – 1995 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Seneca Wallace (QB, Iowa State) – 2001 Offensive Player of the Game
  • Eli Manning (QB, Ole Miss) – 2002 Offensive Player of the Game

Two Former Independence Bowl Players Turned into Super Bowl MVPs

Two players who played in the Independence Bowl have been named Super Bowl MVP – Manning and Von Miller (Texas A&M, 2009). Manning was named Super Bowl MVP twice in leading the New York Giants to victory – Super Bowl XLII in 2008 and Super Bowl XLVI in 2012, and Miller was named MVP of Super Bowl 50 in 2016 when the Denver Broncos defeated the Carolina Panthers.

Schools with the Most Players to Play in the Super Bowl

Texas A&M is the school to have the most Independence Bowl alumni make Super Bowl appearances – eight players split between their 1981, 2000 and 2009 teams. The 1981 and 2009 Aggies had three players play in the Super Bowl apiece, while the 2000 Texas A&M squad had two. 

The 1993 Virginia Tech Hokies, 1994 Virginia Cavaliers, 1995 LSU Tigers and 1995 Michigan State Spartans are tied for the most Super Bowl appearances of a single Independence Bowl team, with five players apiece. 

1995 Independence Bowl in the Super Bowl

The 1995 Independence Bowl between LSU and Michigan State produced the most Super Bowl appearances, with 15. LSU running back Kevin Faulk appeared in four Super Bowls for the New England Patriots. Other notable names from the 1995 matchup to play in a Super Bowl include Pro Football Hall of Famer Alan Faneca, Flozell Adams, Booger McFarland, Muhsin Muhammad and Derrick Mason. Faneca (LSU) and Adams (Michigan State) played on opposite sides in the Independence Bowl but were both stalwarts together on the 2005 Pittsburgh Steelers offensive line that helped lead them to victory in Super Bowl XL.

Independence Bowl Alumni with Multiple Super Bowl Appearances

Of the 111 players who have played in the Super Bowl heading into this Sunday, 29 have played in multiple Super Bowls. Faulk and Pro Football Hall of Famer Bruce Smith have played in four Super Bowls apiece. 11 players – Jeff Thomason (Oregon, 1989), Andre Townsend (Ole Miss, 1983), Sammy Winder (Southern Miss, 1980), Kubiak, Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Monk (Syracuse, 1979), Chad Hennings (Air Force, 1984), Tony Tolbert (UTEP, 1988), Derek Loville (Oregon, 1989), Ty Warren (Texas A&M, 2000), James Farrior (Virginia, 1994) and Nate Solder (Colorado, 2007) – have played in three Super Bowls apiece. 

If he appears in Super Bowl LVII on Sunday, former Florida State and current Chiefs defensive tackle Derrick Nnadi will add his name to the list of three Super Bowl appearances. Kansas City defensive back L’Jarius Sneed (Louisiana Tech, 2019) has a chance to add his name to the list of multiple Super Bowl appearances on Sunday.


Established in 1976, the Radiance Technologies Independence Bowl™ is college football’s 11th most-historic bowl game – celebrating its 47th edition in 2023. The Houston Cougars defeated the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns 23-16 in the 46th playing of the bowl in 2022. The Independence Bowl Foundation announced a one-year extension with Radiance Technologies – ensuring they will be the title sponsor through 2025. The bowl’s conference, team, and television agreements also run through the 2025 season. Army West Point and BYU are slated to match up against a rotation of the Pac-12 Conference, American Athletic Conference and Conference USA, which will be televised on an ESPN network.

The Independence Bowl Foundation is prevalent in the Shreveport-Bossier City area throughout the year, hosting events to help enhance the economic impact and growth of our community. The Mission of the Independence Bowl is to attract and provide quality, nationally recognized football competition oriented to the Ark-La-Tex region. For more information, visit or follow the bowl on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @IndyBowl.

Independence Bowl Foundation

P.O Box 1723, Shreveport LA 71166  |  401 Market Street, Shreveport, LA 71101  |  318.221.0712

2023 Independence Bowl