Nine I-Bowl Alumni Drafted in 2020 NFL Draft

Although no players were added to the list of 72 Independence Bowl alumni taken in the first round of the NFL Draft throughout the years, there were nine alumni drafted in the seven-round 2020 NFL Draft.

Former Florida State running back Cam Akers was the highest selection – going in the second round to the Los Angeles Rams with the 52nd overall pick. He was followed by one more day two selection, as former Temple center Matt Hennessy was selected with the 78th overall selection by the Atlanta Falcons. Seven more players were taken on Saturday between the fourth and seventh rounds, bringing the grand total to nine players selected in this year’s NFL Draft. Temple led the way with three players selected in the draft. The full list is as follows:

  • Cam Akers (RB, Florida State): 2nd Round (52nd overall) to the Los Angeles Rams
  • Matt Hennessy (C, Temple): 3rd Round (78th overall) to the Atlanta Falcons
  • L’Jarius Sneed (DB, Louisiana Tech): 4th Round (138th overall) to the Kansas City Chiefs
  • Shaq Quarterman (LB, Miami): 4th round (140th overall) to the Jacksonville Jaguars
  • K.J. Osborn (WR, Miami): 5th Round (176th overall) to the Minnesota Vikings
  • Shaun Bradley (LB, Temple): 6th Round (196th overall) to the Philadelphia Eagles
  • Quez Watkins (WR, Southern Miss): 6th round (200th overall) to the Philadelphia Eagles
  • James Smith-Williams (Edge, NC State): 7th Round (229th overall) to the Washington Redskins
  • Chapelle Russell (LB, Temple): 7th Round (241st overall) to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

Adding to the nine players drafted this year, 12 Independence Bowl alumni were signed as undrafted free agents. The list of undrafted free agents is as follows:

  • Trajan Bandy (CB, Miami): Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Romeo Finley (LB, Miami): Los Angeles Chargers
  • Sam Franklin Jr. (LB, Temple): Carolina Panthers
  • Bobby Holly (FB, Louisiana Tech): Los Angeles Chargers
  • Dana Levine (DE, Temple): Dallas Cowboys
  • Trevon McSwain (DL, Duke): Chicago Bears
  • Gabe Nabers (FB, Florida State): Los Angeles Chargers
  • Jared Pinkney (TE, Vanderbilt): Atlanta Falcons
  • Stanford Samuels III (CB, Florida State): Green Bay Packers
  • J’Mar Smith (QB, Louisiana Tech): New England Patriots
  • Courtney Wallace Jr. (DT, Louisiana Tech): New England Patriots
  • Isaiah Wright (WR, Temple): Washington Redskins

Independence Bowl Foundation

P.O Box 1723, Shreveport LA 71166  |  401 Market Street, Shreveport, LA 71101  |  318.221.0712

2023 Independence Bowl